ARC Review of ‘The Damned’ by Andrew Pyper

the damned

okay, guys, I received an ARC of ‘The Damned’ written by Andrew Pyper from The Reading Room after winning a drawing over on their website.

What it’s about? A teenager survives a house fire but his twin sister did not. Now, as a man, he is being haunted by her. He must protect himself and his new found family before his sister drags him down to wherever she is. And she’s a scary beeyotch.

This book made me actually quite terrified at times. The synopsis told me it would be a horror novel, but I was not expecting this. Now, with that being said, I absolutely loved it. I loved how Pyper could make my heart hammer while giving me a serious case of the heebie jeebies; how the characters were all (to me, at least) someone I could relate to, in some way or another; and how it brought up the topic of the Afterlife. I feel like this is a question a lot of people have: What happens after we die? ‘The Damned’ was able to take the characters to both ends of that spectrum. They went through hell, literally, to find out the truth and to put the past to rest.

I really recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of the supernatural and scary. If that’s your cup of tea, then this book is for you.

PS I’m still getting the hang of this, so if you have any pointers please feel free to share them. If I’m not being detailed enough (I’m not sure how to be without giving away spoilers), I’m not ‘doing this right’, etc. Thanks again!!

One response to “ARC Review of ‘The Damned’ by Andrew Pyper

Leave a Reply

